Opened 9 years ago

Closed 9 years ago

#11589 closed defect (invalid)

Editor: memory leak problem when adding lots of text

Reported by: Roberto Mosqueda Owned by: Jared Jurkiewicz
Priority: high Milestone: 1.6
Component: Editor Version: 1.5
Keywords: memory leak Cc: David Schwartz, tmayeur@…, hwcdl@…
Blocked By: Blocking:

Description

Testing Type: Memory leaks

Widget: dijit.Editor

Description: on IE 8, Safari 5 and chorme 5 if you add a large text to the editor, the use of memory is increased, and if you delete the text added, the memory is not released

Steps to reproduce:
1.- Open an affected browser on the /dijit/tests/editor/test_Editor.html sample page
2.- Open the process explorer tool to monitor the memory used by the affected browser
3.- Use one of the editors, for example the second editor in the page and add it a large text.
4.- Delete all the text added previously

Actual results: when you add a large text to the editor, new memory is reserved (image1 attached) but when you delete the text the memory is not released.(image2 attached)

Expected results: If memory is reserved when new text is added, the memory should be released when the text is deleted.

Attachments (2)

image1.jpg (204.2 KB) - added by Roberto Mosqueda 9 years ago.
image2.jpg (105.9 KB) - added by Roberto Mosqueda 9 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (6)

Changed 9 years ago by Roberto Mosqueda

Attachment: image1.jpg added

Changed 9 years ago by Roberto Mosqueda

Attachment: image2.jpg added

comment:1 Changed 9 years ago by Douglas Hays

Owner: set to Jared Jurkiewicz

jared, isn't this "leak" just the undo/redo buffers at work?

comment:2 Changed 9 years ago by bill

Cc: bkeese@… removed
Component: DijitEditor
Summary: memory leak problem when adding a large text to the editor widgetEditor: memory leak problem when adding lots of text

comment:3 Changed 9 years ago by Douglas Hays

Milestone: tbd1.6

IBM #151537

comment:4 Changed 9 years ago by Jared Jurkiewicz

Resolution: invalid
Status: newclosed

The 'leak' is not a leak. The Editor maintains undo/redo buffers. 'Deleted' content is just the undo/redo buffer keeping it so that it can be properly reverted when undo is clicked.

Closing as invalid.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.